Jennifer progresses on a day of upsets in girls under-16 of the Fenesta Open National Tennis Championship

Jennifer progresses on a day of upsets in girls under-16 of the Fenesta Open National Tennis Championship

New Delhi,14th October 2014: Top seed Jennifer Luikham made it to the third round of the girls under-16 and it was an end of the road for third seed Rishika Ravindran and Snehal Mane, seeded fourth, at the Fenesta Open National Championship on Tuesday.

It took an hour and 10 minutes for Jennifer to beat Sonashe Bhatnagar 6-1, 6-3, while second seed Zeel Desai also notched a second-round win over Anand Dharna Mudaliar 6-1, 6-4.

However, for Tamil Nadu girl Rishika, who got a bye in the first round, it was curtains after she lost to Aarja Chakraborty 4-6, 1-6 and Snehal was also handed a second-round exit by Rashmika Rajan 3-6, 1-6.

Fifth seeded Aarushi Kakkar could not ascertain her authority and joined the list of causalities in the girls under-16 after she lost 0-6, 4-6 to Shivani Amineni.

In the boys under-16, defending champion B.R. Nikshep continued his progress without much trouble and registered a 6-1, 6-2 win over Pranash Babu.

Nikshep broke early in the second game before Pranash came back to win the fourth game against the top seed. But that was the only point of success for Pranash as he failed to win a single game after that in the opening set.

In the second set, Nikshep again took an early lead and capitalized on a break point to break Pranash in the opening game itself. Pranash managed to hold his serve in the third and seventh games but that wasn’t good enough to stop Nikshep from recording a facile win.

Fourth seed Nitin Sinha also made it to the third round and defeated Adel Kalyanpur 6-1, 6-2 in the boys under-16.

In the boys under-14, top seed Siddhant Banthia made it to the third round with an authoritative performance against Dinesh Gahlot. Siddhant, who won the Road to Wimbledon and qualified for the 2015 junior Wimbledon Championships, dispatched Dinesh 6-1, 6-2.

Second seed Megh Bhargav Kumar, Himanshu Mor, seeded third, and fifth seed Dhakshineswan Suresh also joined Siddhant in the third round of the boys under-16.

Megh got the better of Jagtan Arora 6-2,6-4, while Himanshu fought hard to beat Mann Shah 6-4,4-6,6-3, and Dhakshineswan outplayed Dipin Wadhwa 6-0,6-1.


Scores at 6 pm:


Boys Under 16

BR Nikshep (Seed 1) bt Pranash Babu 6-1,6-2;Nitin Sinha (Seed 4) bt Adel Kalyanpur 6-1,6-2; Raghav Jaisinghani bt Rishab Sharda 6-2,6-4


Girls Under 16

Jennifer Luikham (Seed 1) bt Sonashe Bhatnagar 6-1,6-3; Zeel Desai (Seed 2) bt Anand Dharna Mudaliar 6-1,6-4; Aarja Chakraborty bt Rishika Ravindran (Seed 3) 6-4,6-1; Rashmika Rajan bt Snehal Mane (Seed 4) 6-3,6-1;Shivani Amineni bt Aarushi Kakkar (Seed 5) 6-0,6-4;Ramya Natrajan bt Shaikh Humera 6-1,6-2;

Prinkle Singh bt Rashmikka Shrivalli 6-0,6-0;Sathwika Sama bt Seerat Sidhu 6-4,6-1;Akshara Iska bt Akanksha Bhan 6-2,6-2;Yabrani Banerjee bt Urmi Pandya 4-6,6-3,6-3;Dedeepiya Sai bt Lathika Premkumar 6-4,6-3;Sabhyata Nihalani bt Sarah Dev 6-4,4-6,6-3; Harsha Sai Challa bt Aesha Hiten Patel 7-6,6-2; Avanthika Sai R bt Muskaan Gupta 7-5,4-6,6-1;Shivani Swarup Ingle bt Kritika Chhabra 4-6,6-0,6-4; Vaidehi Chaudhari bt Swathisti Suresh 7-5,6-3

Boys Under 14

Siddhant Banthia (Seed 1) bt Dinesh Gahlot 6-1,6-2;Megh Bhargav Kumar (Seed 2) bt Jagtan Arora 6-2,6-4;Dhakshineswan Suresh (Seed 5) bt Dipin Wadhwa 6-0,6-1;Himanshu Mor (Seed 3) bt Mann Shah 6-4,4-6,6-3;Piyush Salekar bt Tushar Sharma 6-3,6-3;Saurav Kalkal bt Bikramjeet Singh 6-3,6-0;M Teertha Shashank bt Sacchitt Sharma 6-4,7-5;Sanket Tomar bt Rithwik Choudhary 6-1,3-6,6-2;Aman Patel bt Aakash Ahlawat 6-2,6-2;Kabir Manrai bt Aaryan Mehul Zaveri 6-1,6-2

Nikit M Reddy bt Kiran Devaa 6-3,6-4;Roham K Reddy bt Sahstru Sharma 6-1,6-2

S.M Aadithya bt S. Saran 6-1,6-4;Digvijay Pratap Singh bt Vipul Mehta 6-0,6-1

Rishabh Sharda bt Karteek Reddy 6-3,6-3;Naithaolin Calvin Golmi bt Tarun Karra 5-2 (Retd)

Girls under 14

Prinkle Singh (Seed 1) bt Kritika Chabbra 6-1,6-3;Dedeepya Sai (Seed 2) bt Anu Verma 6-3,6-1;Shivani Swarup Ingle (Seed 3) bt Bhakti Parwani 6-2,6-1;Shivani Amineni (Seed 4) bt Bhavya Ramineni 6-1,6-1;Sabhyata Nihalani (Seed 6) bt Shivani Shravya 6-2,6-1;Akanksha Bhan bt Aisha Hiten Patel 6-3,6-2;Sarah Dev bt Ratuparna Choudhary 6-3,6-2;Aarja Chakraborty bt Rashnikka Shrivalli 6-1,6-1

Yubrani bt Megha Muthukumaran 6-4,6-4;Vaidehi Chaudhri bt Reetika Grewal 6-0,6-0;Sathurika Sama bt Anaiya Kaka 6-2,6-1;Rashmika Rayam bt Neha Mokhasi 6-1,7-6(2);Anand Dharna Mudaliar bt Shreya Gulia 7-6(5),7-5;Sanya Singh bt Lathika Premkumaran 6-4,6-3;Peddada Sivanajna bt Swasthisi Suresh 6-4,6-7(3),6-2;Shaikh Humera bt Riddhi R Sharma 6-4,6-1

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s